My blog holiday is over!

Nothing ever goes to plan and so didn’t my blogging schedule that I had carefully crafted for my 5 week trip to Europe. Initially I managed to write a couple of posts but the last one I published was on July 25th. Shame on me!  Or maybe not?

I am currently trying to analyse how and why this happened. I have to admit that the moment I genuinely allowed myself to quit writing I felt no more urgency to write about blogging. Had I at that stage come to ‘real’ relaxation? Were there so many more interesting things to do or could I just not be bothered anymore?  Will I ever know and furthermore does it matter?

Funnily after having returned home for less than a week, having caught up with friends and after fighting my way through mountains of washing and sorting, I now feel that old urgency coming back. I even feel inspiration to report on this chain of events….

Guilt versus acceptance

Maybe that is how it should be – after all I was on holiday. If you are an accountant and you are off to some exotic place, you won’t take a pile of business statements to analyse. So I assume the same counts for us bloggers. Somehow it feels different though. Blogging does not feel like work so therefore there does not seem to be a reason to stop when on holiday. At least that is what I thought but reality has shown me a different story.

After a couple of weeks into my holiday I felt I no longer wanted to research and write about blogging. I basically did not feel like doing anything at all on my computer. Admittedly what did not help was the fact that internet connections were on occasions very basic or pretty much non-existent with the result that researching and publishing blog posts were not without hiccups.

Usually when I write about a certain aspect of blogging I research books, articles and other blogs and so on. I like to explore what others write  and what kind of issues people come across when blogging. Having no internet access makes that side of the process rather difficult. I could have just reflected on experiencing this but instead I opted for doing nothing.

This is almost a month ago. The first week of my break was with a sense of guilt and I almost felt obliged to do something. The longer I did nothing the easier it became. I suppose that is what generally happens when people go on holiday. It takes a while to relax and to totally ‘let go’ and indulge in doing nothing. Most of us find this hard to do and find that their mind remains busy. It is bizarre but the hardest thing  is to rid ourselves from that annoying feeling of accountability. The best relaxation for me is to feeling that I don’t need to do anything. But it seems that not being needed to do things is also the hardest to accept.

About blogexercise

This blog is to record my blogging progress and my day to day thoughts on how to become a professional blogger.

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Purpose of blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hope your life more wonderful’s a Im very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there. post.

Leave a Reply

