The protocol of blog comments

Should you edit comments on your blog?

The other day I was talking about some of the comment I have been getting on my blog. I told my daughter that the English in some of them was not very good and needed correcting before I would want to publish them. She was somehow surprised and replied that other social media don’t allow you to do this. And indeed a site such as Facebook does not allow you to alter comments even if they are grammatically incorrect.

My immediate reaction to this is that my blog is in English – grammatically correct English without spelling mistakes to be precise.  If a comment gets published on my blog I like it to have the same standards. Point blank! Is that arrogant? Maybe some of you will think so but I happen to consider correct English as one of my minimum standards.

What are exactly the rules regarding this? I work occasionally with a law student who currently prepares an exam on Privacy Law and I will consult her the next time I see her. She is quite obsessed with the subject at the moment and I bet I get a bit of information out of her. Let’s hope it is objective and not a reflection of her opinion. I’ll keep you posted on that.

Ulterior motives for commenting on blogs

Why do people comment on blogs? Many reasons come to mind – appreciation, support, questioning, criticising. All legitimate reactions on a blogpost. There are some more reasons and they tend to be less ‘legitimate’. I have been blogging since November 2011, have written almost 60 posts and have received 167 comments. Almost all comments were considered spam by WordPress but fortunately only 12 were real spam.

This leaves me with 153 comments which were mostly positive and I am very proud of that. However as I check my site every day, read, edit and reply to all comments I have started to notice something interesting. To explain this further I will quote some of the comments.

“An interesting dialogue is price comment. I feel that you must write extra on this topic, it may not be a taboo subject however typically people are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers” (published in ‘Where to place your keywords?’)

“An attention-grabbing discussion is value comment. I feel that you should write something about this subject, it won’t be a taboo subject but typically people are not confident enough to speak out about such topics. Until next time. Cheer” (published in ’The first steps towards keyword research”)

Both these comments are by the same author and I am interested in his or her motive to place these comments. Is there really an interest to get more information about the above topics or is this a way to promote their own website.

This is not the only time this has happened. It seems there are ‘template’ comments out there and people use them on different posts. They could well be genuine and then I apologise sincerely but they seem only one step away from planting ‘a link as a comment‘ for the sake of exposure.

I am interested to hear if this has happened to other bloggers and what your opinions are. So please keep your genuine comments coming and let’s crack this nut!

About blogexercise

This blog is to record my blogging progress and my day to day thoughts on how to become a professional blogger.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Purpose of blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 43 Comments.

  1. As an avid reader of the comments after an article, my opinion is to never correct a commentor’s English. Their grammar, spelling and word usage indicate to me a variety of things about the poster which I may not realize otherwise. Things which may effect how much consideration I give their comment, such as: English is not their first language, or they are not well educated, or they are a lazy thinker/performer, or they are brilliant but simply a bad speller or bad with grammar rules. I’ve never considered the mistakes made in a comment as anything negative towards the blogger.

    Besides, why waste even a single moment of your time trying to “pretty up” someone else’s words when you could be using that time to create prettier turns of phrase of your very own?

  2. Nice post . Thank you for, commenting on this blog page dude! I shall email you some time. I did not know that.

  3. I just want to mention I am newbie to blogs and absolutely savored this web-site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have incredible writings. Kudos for revealing your website.

  4. Some truly choice articles on this internet site , saved to fav.

  5. I savor, lead to I found just what I used to be taking a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  6. Well I truly enjoyed reading it. This information procured by you is very useful for good planning.

  7. Hey There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. This is a really neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

  8. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you just could do with some p.c. to drive the message house a bit, but instead of that, that is magnificent blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.

  9. I think this website contains very fantastic composed subject matter articles.

  10. Dead indited content material , thanks for entropy.

  11. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for! “The right to be heard does not autmatically include the right to be taken seriously.” by Hubert Humphrey.

  12. I think other website owners should take this web site as an example , very clean and good user pleasant style . “It is the sign of a week mind to be unable to bear wealth.” by Seneca.

  13. Very interesting subject , thanks for posting . “I am convinced that life in a physical body is meant to be an ecstatic experience.” by Shakti Gawain.

  14. Woh I like your content , saved to bookmarks ! .

  15. Thanks for this grand post, I’m glad I observed this website on yahoo.

  16. I like the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great blog posts.

  17. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am glad to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most indisputably will make certain to don’t omit this site and provides it a glance regularly.

  18. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  19. Merely wanna input on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the subject matter is rattling superb. “Crime does not pay … as well as politics.” by Alfred E. Newman.

  20. Great post, I think blog owners should acquire a lot from this web site its very user genial. So much fantastic info on here :D.

  21. I am not real good with English but I come up this real leisurely to read.

  22. Good post. I be taught one thing more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It would all the time be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice slightly something from their store. I’d want to make use of some with the content material on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  23. An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing slightly analysis on this. And he in reality purchased me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If attainable, as you turn out to be expertise, would you thoughts updating your blog with more details? It is extremely helpful for me. Massive thumb up for this weblog post!

  24. I genuinely enjoy looking through on this website , it has superb blog posts.

  25. My spouse and i got absolutely comfortable that Chris managed to do his web research by way of the ideas he discovered when using the weblog. It’s not at all simplistic to just continually be giving out secrets which usually most people may have been making money from. Therefore we acknowledge we need the website owner to be grateful to for that. The entire illustrations you’ve made, the simple web site menu, the friendships you aid to engender – it’s got mostly great, and it’s aiding our son in addition to our family understand that idea is awesome, which is particularly fundamental. Thanks for all the pieces!

  26. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my blog so i came to “return the prefer”.I’m trying to in finding issues to enhance my site!I guess its adequate to use a few of your concepts!!

  27. I regard something truly interesting about your net weblog so I saved to my bookmarks .

  28. You are my intake, I have few blogs and infrequently run out from brand :). “To die for a religion is easier than to live it absolutely.” by Jorge Luis Borges.

  29. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  30. I as effectively as my friends appeared to be checking out the great pointers identified on your web-site and all of a sudden I had a terrible suspicion I never thanked the net blog owner for those secrets. My women are actually for that reason excited to read all of them and have definitely been loving those things. Appreciation for really being so helpful and also for selecting certain decent areas most people are really desirous to understand about. Our own sincere apologies for not saying thanks to you sooner.

  31. I like this web blog very much, Its a very nice spot to read and get info. “I have never liked working. To me a job is an invasion of privacy.” by Danny McGoorty.

  32. Hello There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is an extremely smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

  33. So I am delighted you post this up. Really been looking for this. Appreciate it =)

  34. Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, regards .

  35. Really good information can be found on web site. “Wealth may be an ancient thing, for it means power, it means leisure, it means liberty.” by James Russell Lowell.

  36. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome weblog!

  37. Woh I your posts , bookmarked ! .

  38. This can be such an informative story and very clearly written. Every single thought and idea is direct to the point. Perfectly laid out. cheers for taking your time sharing this to you scaners.

  39. For some reason I seem to get a large amount of comments on this post. All very positive, motivating and flattering. A big thank you for all your compliments!

  1. Pingback: Affordable SEO Company

  2. Pingback: about

Leave a Reply

